Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-04-2011, 04:32 PM

171 posts, read 446,960 times

Advertisements

I'm a non-professional using $8k in savings to relocate to another state this December. Between now and then, I've only booked one trip to the city, October 5-10. It's a $400 plane trip every time I go, and I've already been there twice and can't afford to visit all the time.

At any rate, like said, I'm NOT a professional. I'll have a college degree and two years of experience working as a $7.75/hr executive assistant (yeah, figure that out) BUT I didn't let my degree get to my head and I'm not above bussing tables, stocking shelves, and flipping burgers. What I know is that I need to make $350 a week from my job(s) to be more than comfortable and to sustain a lifestyle better than what I have now as a college student and to qualify for and be able to afford the readily-available apartments in my $450/mo budget.

That said, what in the world can I do in those 5 days I'll be in Saint Louis to get my name out there? EVERYONE is telling me that I ought to find a job before I go, but my thinking is, who in their right mind would hire an administrative assistant from across the country when it's literally THE most common position with the most workers in the United States? It's not like I'm a pharmacist, engineer, or some other position where it makes sense to apply from states away. Right??

...so I'm at a loss.