Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-07-2012, 08:17 AM

7 posts, read 12,391 times

Advertisements

Hi all! I'm a nurse from the east coast who is about to jump into the exciting world of travel nursing. I live in coastal NC now and I really want to travel out west. I flew to Albuquerque once and fell in love with the desert and "big sky", but other than than I've never been west of the Mississippi River. I have a job offer at West Valley Hospital in Goodyear. If I choose to accept it (which I probably will), I will be driving across the country in a Honda Civic with two teenage boys and a black lab.

I'm very excited to explore the greater Phoenix area, and as much of the rest of the southwest as I can squeeze in to my three month assignment! I'm looking for information on whether Goodyear is a good fit for us. Here are the things I would like:

Safe area, my teens will be home alone (company-provided apartment, hopefully near hospital) while I'm working 3 nights a week.

Farmer's market.

A good coffee shop, preferably where they roast in-house (I'm a home coffee roaster, but I don't think I'm going to have room for my coffee equipment, so would love to have access to fresh roasted coffee beans).

A handful of really good authentic (non-chain) casual restaurants, including a few who deliver to Goodyear (in case my boys get hungry while I'm not home).

Dog-friendly parks and hiking.

Easy commute to downtown Phoenix (say, less than 30 minutes).