Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 04:04 PM

16 posts, read 25,135 times

Advertisements

Ok so I'm new to this and I did a quick search and couldn't really find what I was looking for so I apologise in advance if this has been asked a thousand times, sorry!

I'm thinking about moving to New York for a job but nothing is final, no guarantees I'd get it, plus I'm from Scotland so there could be issues with visas etc etc. So this right now is all purely hypothetical, nothing set in stone but any advice/info you give would be more than appreciated.

I'm 18 and the type of job I'd be doing would give me a salary of around $27000 per year. I take care of my younger siblings ages ranging from 10-17, they would need to be in school and then there's my disabled older brother who I also care for (not sure if a move would be good for him so he might stay home with relatives). In total there would be 7 of us. We're not fussy about the size of a place, we can get by with 2 bedrooms comfortably and 1 at a squeeze. Any neighborhoods you'd recommend? I grew up with nothing, around a lot of violence and while I don't want that for the younger ones, I want to be in a place where they learn to be streetwise and learn to be around all kinds of people. An area I was looking at was High Bridge, any thoughts? I think I read somewhere that it had a lot of stair-streets? Does that mean it's completely inaccessible for somebody in a wheelchair like my brother?