Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

View Poll Results: Where should we go?
Daytona/Port Orange/NSB 12 63.16%
Miami 7 36.84%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-13-2024, 12:10 PM

162 posts, read 231,431 times

Advertisements

Good day, C-D friends.

I'm at the end of my rope with Southern California so we're ready to fly the coop and we're considering Florida because we have family there that can help us get set up.

Here's the info on us: I'm a writer/translator (remote work enabled, so not worried about job market) for a video game company, my wife works at Home Depot so she can transfer anywhere she wants without missing a beat, and we have two high-school age boys.

Points in the Daytona/Port Orange/NSB column:

• Our family is there, so it would be nice to have them nearby.
  • Cheap and relatively quiet, particularly in Port Orange from what I gather.
  • Uncrowded beaches, especially in New Smyrna.
  • Easy-going, suburban lifestyle.

Points in the Miami column:

• My wife is originally from Chile and is not great at English. She would like to be someplace where Spanish is commonly spoken.
  • EV charging is much easier to find, which is important because we have an electric car. (Insert California joke here...)
  • World-class city with all sorts of great amenities, sports (we're soccer fans, so Inter Miami with Messi is a big plus), diverse dining options, etc.