Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

View Poll Results: Do you believe there are a lot of nursing jobs?
No 80 71.43%
Yes 32 28.57%
Voters: 112. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-30-2011, 03:17 PM

1,090 posts, read 3,171,079 times

Advertisements

Hi all~

This is a thread about nursing and the so-called shortage. I want to ask if people really believe there is a nursing shortage. I would particularly love to hear back from nurses.

I'm a nurse myself and I KNOW there isn't a nursing shortage. Nurses these days are lucky to land a job. However, if you disagree, please feel free to vote and give an explanation as to why.

On another note, this thread isn't about me--it's about nursing in general--and I'm no longer in the nursing field. Life is good again and I'm incredibly happy with my decision.

Commence!

Last edited by BingCherry; 06-30-2011 at 03:27 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-30-2011, 03:23 PM

29,860 posts, read 24,990,715 times
I think there may be a shortage of experienced nurses. Colleges have been spitting out new nurses at record rates, but hospitals can only handle so many at a time. You need experienced nurses to teach the fresh ones. The new grads are typically assigned 4 patients max, and that means the hospital looses money on them.