Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-18-2013, 07:52 AM

1 posts, read 4,818 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

I am a single mom living in the west and am considering a move to DC. I am the mother of a 6 year old, providing the drastic majority of her support. I am an attorney who returned to school to fulfill the requirements to take the patent bar. I am finishing my schooling and am looking to return to practice. I have worked at a law firm in the midwest for a couple years and found the midwest professional scene not to be a great fit for me.

I've visited DC and think it could be a great fit for me. However, the idea of moving to a place with such a high COL is intimidating. Does anyone have suggestions for finding a quality school and a safe neighborhood? I prefer a shorter commute, so I can spend less time on the road and more time with my daughter. I'd also like to live around other black professionals if possible.

Thanks for your suggestions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-18-2013, 08:40 AM

6,347 posts, read 9,871,311 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by newpathmom View Post
Hello everyone,