Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Rochester area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-07-2007, 03:14 PM

1 posts, read 9,100 times

Advertisements

I'm a Rochester resident but I don't have much information on this, I'm hoping other residents can help me out:

How does the crime in the Southwedge compare to crime on Monroe Ave (the area between where it intersects with 490, by Canterbury, and the Inner Loop section of 490)?

I'm currently living along Monroe Ave near Meigs, and I'm troubled by the several violent crimes and murders which have happened within 1/2 mile of where I'm living in the short time I've lived here. Street harrassment has also been a problem. I plan to move at the end of the lease, and the best option seems to be the Southwedge - if it's safe. Having spent a little time there, I didn't feel it was unsafe, but it seems very mixed, really - some lovely and well-tended homes next to ill-kept houses or litter-filled vacant lots. A friend living in the area claimed that a house down the street was a crack house. Additionally, I was never there alone, so my impressions may not be all that indicative.

So, is the Southwedge safe? Is it safer than Monroe Ave? Should a young female feel safe living there?

(The other options I'm considering are the East End and Park Ave. Park feels very safe but the rents are a bit higher than I'd really like, and the East End I don't really know much about. Staying near Monroe is also an option, but I often do feel unsafe here, particularly if I want to go anywhere alone at night.)