Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Politics and Other Controversies
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-05-2015, 03:17 PM

6,393 posts, read 4,112,029 times

Advertisements

My boyfriend believes in raising the minimum wage. I'm in between not caring and against raising the minimum wage, although I've been leaning toward being against raising the minimum wage.

When we met a couple years back, he was working in a warehouse full time at $12-15/hour. Couple years ago, he quit that job to go back to school studying finance and accounting.

I'm an engineer in management.

With the background out of the way... earlier today, he got a look at my paystub. He then commented that I make more in a couple months than what he made a whole year when he was working in the warehouse. That comment really hit me hard because I didn't think I make that much to begin with. I have the typical salary of a middle manager.

That also got me thinking. When people complain that CEO's make an obscene amount of money more than the minimum wage worker, wouldn't it make more sense to compare what the typical low skilled worker makes to something like what an engineer makes? Why do I say that? Because now that I think about it, I don't know how anyone can survive on something like $12-15/hour with any level of comfort, let alone less than $10/hour.

I'm leaning back towards supporting raising the minimum wage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-05-2015, 03:34 PM

2,727 posts, read 2,832,514 times