Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-17-2010, 06:32 AM

58 posts, read 242,268 times

Advertisements

Hi All,

I have been a PE teacher for 3 years and Phoenix was one of the areas I was looking at relocating to.

I have noticed in my 3 years applying for teaching jobs across the country that Arizona never seems to have any openings? I usually use School Spring and sometimes teachers-teachers. Does Arizona really have no openings considering how big Phoenix is? Or do the schools there not post the job openings and you have to apply to each one separately? I noticed School Spring pretty much takes jobs from the Department of Education site for each state, so pretty much all teaching jobs are listed on there which is more convenient.

Anyways, I am just looking for the outlook on jobs for the 2010-2011 year especially for Physical Education before I pay for the AZ teaching certificate.

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-17-2010, 07:35 AM

17,914 posts, read 43,401,736 times
Schools are pretty strapped right now, and the funding here is never good to start with. I'm not surprised that you don't see many, or any, openings. Many, like you, want to come here, and the education colleges are putting out new teachers all the time.

I know nothing about how or where the districts here post openings, since there are so many districts in Phoenix, I would imagine that looking and applying individually would be a lot of work.

Old 02-17-2010, 08:53 AM