Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-07-2012, 10:24 AM

6 posts, read 6,221 times

Advertisements

Hey, everyone...I'm wanting to relocate to Los Angeles for the entertainment career (me and everyone else, I know). I've already spent a semester internship with a major production company there, but had to move back home to complete school, etc. I graduated a year ago, but haven't been able to move because of financial setbacks. As soon as I'd get money saved, the car would break down or something. Anyway, I've got about $5,000 saved now, the car's fine, and I don't have anything tying me down at home. The thing is, transferring with my current job isn't an option, so I'd be starting over in L.A.

I've heard people say that if you're gonna rely on savings to get you by for a while, you should have upwards of $10,000 saved. But the more time that goes by after my internship, the bigger risk I have of losing my contacts. I'm also 31 (left school for a while and went back), so it's not like I'm a young 22 year-old with plenty of time. I'm so frustrated with my current situation that I'm depressed, and crying because I've had these ambitions for years of working and living in Cali, making a life for myself there. People who know about those ambitions keep seeing me still here and say "I thought you were in California," or "You're still here?" Makes me feel like a failure. According to them, it should be as easy as just picking up and going.