Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-15-2019, 12:07 PM

1,511 posts, read 1,269,073 times

Advertisements

I'm an accountant and have my CPA license. I'm on track to be Controller, or maybe a VP of Accounting/Finance role at some point in my life - that is the road I'm on right now (currently Assistant Controller at a company).

I kind of hate the corporate world and don't really see myself managing people. I just want to do the work - schedules, workpapers, preparing financial statements, keeping the books, etc, etc... I look at job postings that are open that are my logical next step and I'm just not interested in them and don't see myself being happy at any of them.

My dream is to one day have my own bookkeeping company where I do the books for small business clients... almost like an outsourced accountant. Since I'm a CPA, i feel like I could offer more than just basic bookkeeping.

There are a few positions I've come across that would be a great stepping stone to possibly having my dream come true one day. But the problem is that they all pay around $70k... I currently make $105k (i think i may have seen 1 or 2 for like $90k, so it's possible to get close to what I make, but rare).