Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-22-2014, 09:27 AM

132 posts, read 295,929 times

Advertisements

So looking back on my career so far I have been underemployed since I graduated in 2003. I graduated with a finance/marketing degree from a well known university on the East Coast. I was also fortunate enough to
Co-op for two Fortune 500 companies prior to graduating.

My first real job out of school I only made $36K. 3 years later my company went out of business and I found myself unemployed. 6 months after that I found my next opportunity but my employer was unwilling to negotiate a fair salary because I had been out of work so they took advantage of my situation. I was hoping the problem would correct itself if I worked hard and proved myself but after six years with the company my salary only increased by 15%. I was passed up several times for promotions and the 2008 financial crisis didn't help much. To better myself I went back and got my MBA the old fashioned way...3 years, part time and after work 2 nights a week.

After six years with the same company I had enough and so I started looking for my next opportunity. Fortunately I found a good opportunity (so I thought) and was making a salary in the upper 60s. 5 Months after starting the job they laid me off due to restructuring. Damn, I didn't see that one coming!