Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-12-2012, 06:42 PM
Ep- Ep- started this thread

2,080 posts, read 4,171,849 times

Advertisements

I graduated college right when the economy hit the crapper with an MIS degree. took a job at a call center for one of the biggest healthcare companies and it pays ok. ive been the ideal employee, won awards, hold down the fort when the boss is off, work OT when needed...all that good stuff.

the company has been outsourcing large amount of people to india. big layoffs and lots of good talent leaving. because of this HR gave managers the choice of declining promotions into other depts while transitioning. ive become friends with the manager of the team that has my dream job there. when he had an opening i applied, he told me he wanted to get me in there and then the job was later filled by a recent college grad. so i asked him what happened and he said my manager tried to talk trash on me behind my back (he doesnt know im friends with the guy) and told HR he wanted to decline my transfer. the job ended up taking a few extra weeks to fill because they were argueing back and forth through HR