Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-01-2010, 08:53 AM

24,873 posts, read 36,162,138 times

Advertisements

I have a 4 year degree and worked in my field for 10 years. Now that I've been home with the kids for 3 years, and things only seem to be getting busier with them, I'm considering going back to school to learn a trade so I can work part time. Thoughts? I'm considering something like an ultrasound or x-ray tech. Maybe even a PT tech. I hate to take a step backward, but it would be nice to have more options.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-01-2010, 12:01 PM

18,717 posts, read 33,376,773 times
Look long and hard at the job openings in your area and chosen new field. Also, there are often huge waiting lists for medical tech-type schoolings, as so many people have applied from other fields and endeavors.
If you view this as "moving back," that's not a view that will help you, either in getting in, doing it, or feeling OK about it. Honest work is honest work.

Old 11-01-2010, 07:49 PM

6,578 posts, read 25,460,676 times
I've heard it's *really* hard to get a job as an ultrasound or X-ray tech - lots of trade schools putting out LOTS of these folks. Oversaturated.

Old 11-01-2010, 09:02 PM

580 posts, read 2,292,920 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarNorthDallas View Post
I've heard it's *really* hard to get a job as an ultrasound or X-ray tech - lots of trade schools putting out LOTS of these folks. Oversaturated.