Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Richmond
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-29-2008, 03:50 PM

9 posts, read 30,653 times

Advertisements

I apologize if i'm beating a dead horse with this thread, but i'll take my chances. My wife and I have decided to relocate from Nassau County, Long Island. I work as a financial executive for a very large company on LI and my wife is an Occupational Therapist who does home care and works in schools. We were originally thinking about a 3-4 year time frame, but recently the woman we purchased our house from approached us and wants to buy the house back. This greatly accelerates our move.

Through all the research i've done, i've narrowed things down to Richmond, Raleigh and Charlotte (first time everyone is hearing that, i'm sure). I've almost ruled out Raleigh due to the constant re-zoning of schools that i've heard about. We have 6 year old and a 3 year old.

We are basically looking for a slower pace in life and the ability to work hard (but not nearly as hard as we are now) and still spend time with our kids while they are young. We are in a very good school district now and i'd like to be somewhere that has good public schools as well. My wife can likely get work, easily, wherever we go, but I need to be able to find a well-paying job in finance. We are looking to spend $275k-$350K on a home. We are hoping to find an area with a lot of families with kids the age of ours.