Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-08-2010, 10:44 PM

3 posts, read 25,683 times

Advertisements

Im looking for a one bedroom in Queens close to the city. Preferably somewhere around Woodside/Astoria/Sunnyside or maybe by Queens Center Mall. Im a paralegal fixed salary great references, trying to go to Law School next year so i good nice place to relax after work and school would be great, ive lived in Woodside don't mind the 7 train but do not want to live somewhere that includes a 1+ hr commute and 2 buses. What are my chances of finding a nice place? This would be my first apartment. Any suggestions/comments greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-08-2010, 10:59 PM

12,340 posts, read 26,166,579 times
That's a tall order - a one bedroom apartment for under $1000. I suppose it's possible. What about a studio apartment?

Generally, under $1000 will get you a basement studio in these parts. It's possible it might get you a studio in a coop apt building where rent prices are usually a bit lower than in apt bldgs, but in coops there can be other things to deal with like individual owners, building fees, board approvals and possibly non-renewable leases that run out after 2 years. (Though coop buildings can also be in better condition due to mainly owners living there.)