Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-19-2008, 09:19 AM

5 posts, read 14,826 times

Advertisements

Hi. I live in Chicago and recently got married. My husband used to live in the LA area and really misses the weather and his friends. I'm originally from the South and am getting tired of the cold winters, too. We're planning to move to LA in the next couple of years.

The only issue is my career. I've been practicing law for eight years and know it isn't what I want to do for the rest of my life. I'd really like to go back to school and get certified as a teacher. I've been considering becoming an English, elementary ed, special ed or biology teacher.

I would greatly appreciate any advice regarding teaching opportunities in the LA area, including (1) subject areas most in demand, (2) advice on whether it's better to take classes in Calif. and do student teaching there to get ceritifed or to do it here in Illinois and transfer, (3) good school districts to apply to, etc.

Thanks very much!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-19-2008, 09:27 AM

5,113 posts, read 19,757,166 times
special ed would definitely be a good area to start. english not so sure about, but if you speak spanish as well, you would be a candidate for the ESL(english as a second language) programs. biology im not sure about. it does limit you to only high school, but sciences tend to be suffering for teachers lately. too many english and history teachers and not enough math and sciences