Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-30-2009, 05:47 PM

279 posts, read 1,164,258 times

Advertisements

Hey all, I saw a post about this prior but can't locate it now. I have out of state plates and registration. I'm now a Texas resident and have just obtained insurance good for Texas. Now i'm wondering. Is there a certain order and process to getting my car registered and inspected and obtaining a Tx license?
I live in the Galleria area so if anyone can tell me where and what to do and what order if any. I heard this could be a process and want to do it right so i'm not running around doing the back and forth thing. Thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-30-2009, 06:01 PM

40 posts, read 145,942 times
A Texas DL is not dependant on your cars status. When I get my car registered or inspected, I am pretty sure all I've had to show is insurance - they were not dependant on each other. The state of texas is glad to take your money even if you don't plan on driving the vehicle.

I know of people who have gotten in trouble for having cars parked in the yard that were not registered.

Welcome to Houston.

Old 05-31-2009, 07:58 AM

135 posts, read 567,011 times
Not true. I was there 2 days ago to get my Texas DL and they wanted proof of registration and insurance on any vehicles we owned. In addition they wanted a SS card and birth certificate along with my out of state DL. Was one of the worst processes I've ever seen in regards to obtaining a DL. Good luck OP.

Old 05-31-2009, 08:50 AM