Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 01-28-2014, 02:38 PM

2,994 posts, read 5,586,616 times

Advertisements

Just want to see what the general public thinks about contractors charging a fee to come out to give estimates.

I'm an electrical contractor and I charge a fee to come out if they are fairly far away. I will waive the fee if I am awarded the job.

I also charge to give a written quote not an estimate. Estimates are always free.

The time, the fuel and wear and tear on the truck needs to be paid for. A simple estimate can take over an hour of time out of the day. We need to be paid for every hour we are on the clock just like everyone that works for an employer expects.

We don't win all the jobs so over a coarse of a year all that time, fuel and wear and tear on the truck adds up.

More and more contractors are charging to come out. Many have been doing this from the start.

Old 01-28-2014, 03:34 PM

22,146 posts, read 33,503,954 times
Back when I was contracting I never charged for going out to see the job its just part of doing business. Job walks, bids no charge. If you called for service then we had a minimum show up rate. If I had a job walk with contractors for say a remodel and they tried to charge me for showing up I guarantee you my answer would be don't bother you won't get it.

Old 01-28-2014, 03:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electrician4you View Post