Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-29-2008, 07:33 AM

24 posts, read 48,226 times

Advertisements

I am a 26 year old single Africa-American woman from Detroit. I am a registered nurse. I've lived in city of Detroit all my life, but I'm tired of it and want a change. I'm sick of city life and all the thrills and chills that go with it.

I have always had this dream of saving up and one day having my own house with my own little plot of land where I could have a nice garden and grow herbs and food in a nice little community.

I want a nicer (read: generally warmer) climate than Michigan. I don't want to live in a completely rural area, but a place in which I consider semi-rural where people can own a decent amount of land and where the standard of living is not outrageous. I guess I'm thinking of a small town or up and coming one. And it has to be somewhat diverse racially, as that would be more comfortable for me.

My question is, do places like this actually EXIST in America? Or Canada? Or is it all just a pipe dream in my head?

Anybody have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-29-2008, 07:51 AM

5,987 posts, read 11,672,964 times