Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-31-2010, 09:53 AM

1,786 posts, read 3,463,330 times

Advertisements

Sorry if there is an obvious answer to this - but I am a newbie at this and didn't know I had a green thumb!

I started growing 3 different tomato plants from seed. I have re-potted three times now since they are growing by leaps and bounds. It seems, if this is possible, that the soil has decreased, and in two of the pots, I can clearly see roots (?) on the surface.

Should I add more soil to the pots? Will that help or hurt the plants? I am like a first time Mom with these guys and only want the best for them! Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-31-2010, 12:35 PM

7,084 posts, read 14,870,758 times
Either replant in much larger pots, or put them outside in full sun. You can grow tomatos inside, but you'll need a pot about the size of one of those half barrels you sometimes see used as planters. If you put them outside, full sun, about a yard apart. Mulching helps. And.....you'll need stakes, at least four feet long, one foot in the ground, the rest you tie the plant to, to keep the fruit off of the ground.

Old 05-31-2010, 12:45 PM

Thanks very much! I was waiting for the weather to stabilize before I put them out on the terrace full-time (Southern exposure, so strong). I will do as you say and get bigger pots for them. One of them is already 3 feet high - so I guess it's time.

Old 05-31-2010, 03:24 PM

77,771 posts, read 104,810,535 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by cokatie View Post