Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-27-2018, 08:09 AM

13 posts, read 11,856 times

Advertisements

Hello All,

I am currently a Norwalk condo resident and in the process of purchasing a home in Darien CT. I have found something where I have an accepted offer. The house is perfect for me, my wife and daughter for many many reasons. Its is also on the high end of our budget but manageable due to city water, gas and city sewage.

The house is 250 feet away from train tracks. We didn't have any issues with train passing by while we were inside or outside the house. Noise is not bad at all and I grew in Queens so its not anything unusual to me. There are plenty of woods before the tracks and the train and tracks are barely visible during the summer months.

Finally my question, are there are health hazards that I should know about before I buy this house? Besides the obvious of going near the tracks. I am asking more about electrical or magnetic effects as well as any fumes etc. I want to make sure I dont put my family at risk. I know there are plenty of people that live on both sides of the tracks and i95 in Darien, but I still want to ask this question before I pull the trigger. Any help or advice would be appreciated to help me make a decision.

Thanks,
Ken
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-27-2018, 12:13 PM

34,918 posts, read 56,910,251 times