Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-10-2010, 12:51 AM

243 posts, read 1,629,970 times

Advertisements

Hey guys, I'm 24 and my background is a Bachelors in Multidisciplinary Studies (Dec. 2007 WVU) with 3 minors in business administration, economics, and entrepreneurship. Currently I work customer service at a bank's mortgage division and I am pursuing a Post-baccalaureate certificate in Accounting (Dec. 2010 VCU). After the certificate I will have all of the necessary requirements to sit for the CPA exam. Should I go for these degrees, or just try to find work in Accounting? If you think I should go for these degrees, which degree do you think would benefit me the most? I know I wouldn't want to do Accounting forever, and I decided pursue a CPA because it seems like a good way to get my foot in the door for the "business world". Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-10-2010, 09:39 AM

784 posts, read 2,729,981 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtaylo24 View Post
I know I wouldn't want to do Accounting forever
What do you want to do?

Quote:
I decided pursue a CPA because it seems like a good way to get my foot in the door for the "business world"
Then you are pursuing it for the wrong reasons.

Old 01-10-2010, 02:00 PM

1,534 posts, read 4,260,981 times