Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-26-2009, 06:03 PM

2 posts, read 5,141 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I'm looking to move into an apartment in the city this coming summer and would like some help in selecting a neighboorhood. I graduated college a year ago and work up in Libertyville. I know itll be a decent sized commute which is why I'd like to live as close to the interstate as possible to cut down on time. I'd like to stay relatively close to Wrigleyville so the neighborhoods that are around the area I've been thinking about are Irving Park, Avondale, West Lakeview, and Bucktown, but I'm not really sure if one neighboorhood has better options along I94 than another.

Thanks for any advice!

Dave
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-28-2009, 01:13 PM

1,044 posts, read 2,378,523 times
Hi Dave,

I myself, live right next to the Kennedy, in an area that most people think is Wicker Park (however, historically it was always known as Noble Square).

I mean, Iliterally look out my balcony and look down on the Kennedy (I90/I94). This is right off of Division Street. So, it only take me about 30 seconds to get from my condo, to the entrance ramp at Division St. It works very well.

However, I used to live in Lakeview, and it actually took quite some time to get from 94, down into Lakeview; you would exit at irving Park rd, turn left and head east, and from there it would take 5 or 10 minutes to actually get back to where I was living at the time (Clark and Addison, right outside Wirgely Field).