Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-02-2011, 08:33 PM

1 posts, read 1,189 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I have been poking around the forum reading some of the advice given to other people about moving to Chicago, but I'm still having some trouble finding an apartment, and was wondering if anybody could help me out.

I am a female undergrad student that will be working in the loop this summer for two months, with a budget of ~$850/month (including utilities, so I would prefer it be less than that). At first, I thought that it would be a good idea to live near downtown for a shorter commute, but I found out from reading some of these threads that it's not necessarily the safest place area to live in.

I would be open to sharing an apartment, or to having a studio. I figure that having roommates might be a nice way to meet people. On the other hand, I also don't have any experience with living with a complete stranger, and wonder if I might be caught in an awkward situation being as young as I am.