Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-21-2011, 08:53 AM

1 posts, read 1,448 times

Advertisements

HI,

I have been a Tennessee resident for 20 years and decided to make a move to Pittsburgh to follow the online courses I was taking with the Art Institute there. That sort of didn't work as I discovered that for the amount it would have cost me to gain an education and live on campus would have made a sizable contribution toward the purchase of a new home, or for half the country. So, needles to say I came back to the Volunteer state but am still not happy.
I am currently a freelance writer, something I chose to get into after publishing my first novel back in '09. I would like to continue on my writing course, but also need a steady income while I'm chasing my dreams. I have a hunger to see what America has to offer and Chicago seems as good a city as any to begin this course. So please, if anyone has any advice on what to expect from such a vast city such as the safest form of public transportation, what areas to stay out of and even what's popular. I would greatly appreciate your input.
Thank You,
Tricia
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-21-2011, 09:05 AM

12,063 posts, read 31,642,167 times
Oh lord, that's pretty broad.