Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-19-2009, 05:50 PM

1 posts, read 1,346 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone!
I just ran across this forum and thought it was the perfect place to get the 'locals' opinions. Ya’ll can be my eyes!! I am an engineer and have been working in the automotive industry the past 3 years. I recently took a buy-out package, so I am on the job market again. I am originally from the south, so I decided this was a perfect time to return to warmer weather. I've been to the Charlotte a few times and absolutely fell in LOVE with the area! I've been job searching for the last couple months in the Charlotte area (and in general North/South Carolina area), and I haven't had much luck. I know its a crappy time of year, as well as being between the 4th quarter and 1st of the year where all the businesses are trying to figure out what they are gonna do, BUT...

I was wondering, does anybody have any suggestions for companies to look into in the Charlotte area that are currently hiring? I have a B.S. and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering and I have 3 yrs of 'real world experience', and I’m open to any industries. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-20-2009, 02:39 AM

28,338 posts, read 16,473,078 times
Is the BMW plant in Spartanburg, SC hiring, by chance?

Unemployment is pretty high in Charlotte, at the moment. Higher than the national average...

Old 01-20-2009, 04:21 AM