Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-08-2011, 07:19 PM
ail ail started this thread

34 posts, read 79,160 times

Advertisements

I am fairly new to Austin, and was wondering if people have kids birthday parties outdoors in mid-Dec? I'd like to have my 3 yr old's bday at a park (w/ a shelter), at 3:30 p.m. but I hear that it can get really cold at that time of the year. Should I look for indoor venues instead?? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-08-2011, 07:46 PM

7,228 posts, read 16,095,392 times
It can be gorgeous in mid-December in Austin! Really amazing!!

But there is always the risk of a cold front coming through. It could be drizzling and 45 degrees or 75 with a beautiful blue sky . . . so, I'd go with the park but have a backup plan too. 3 year old aren't hard to satisfy, so you should be fine.

Old 11-08-2011, 08:28 PM

12,059 posts, read 13,880,864 times
Personally I would think twice. If it's cold and rainy, you'll really regret being outside in nippy conditions for 3 hours.

Old 11-08-2011, 09:33 PM

426 posts, read 1,673,217 times
It can be hit and miss. We've had two outdoor parties recently in early/mid December. One was gorgeous and in the 70's, the other was also a pretty day but in the 30's. You just never know here.

Old 11-08-2011, 09:40 PM

597 posts, read 1,316,783 times
These kids will whine. People in Austin can't handle any cold.

Old 11-09-2011, 07:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tfresca View Post