Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Wyoming
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-09-2006, 07:11 PM

3,455 posts, read 8,353,416 times

Advertisements

I'm a single woman, almost 30 with a great sounding job offer in Laramie. I am from the chicago area.

I have always had an interest/desire to move to the west and I have lived alone in few different places both city and rural in the US. I have an advanved degree and am wondering how people will treat me in Laramie.

I dont mean to assume that people will look down on me for being single at my age, or being too educated or whatever. But I have to admit it is a fear of mine, that if i do go out there I will have a hard time finding other women to be friends with, and it may be even harder to date because most men are probably already married at my age out there?

Even still, I just wonder if I will stand out of if maybe there are more people like me out there than I realize, but its hard to imagine in a town with less than 30,000 people, when quite a few of those are college students.

I'm interested in all kinds of other info about laramie too, its a hard decision, I think my most pressing concern though is how the culture reacts to single women with an education and a good job.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-11-2006, 09:31 PM

15 posts, read 65,055 times
I don't think anybody will care, but you. Most people are college kids who are looking for the next party and/ or sexual experience.

Old 12-12-2006, 09:50 AM
MHT

434 posts, read 2,256,649 times
Default Laramie single woman