Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-30-2015, 06:55 PM

299 posts, read 444,084 times

Advertisements

I graduated when I was 21 from a state university in California, with a psych B.A. I moved to Arizona for grad. school and have had a bit of a hard time finding a decent paying job (yeah I know, my bad for majoring in psych ... lol. But I did great internships throughout my program). Right now i'm in a very entry-level nonprofit marketing position. Long story short-- I just got an offer for 7 dollars an hour higher than what i'm being paid and it's honestly a pretty good wage (18/ hr). especially in my low cost-of-living state.... Woo AZ!

But, I am VERY very very nervous about quitting tomorrow.... I know it's just part of life and business. But I still hate feeling like i've let people do.

How have you approached quitting in the past? What's the best thing to say? Should I be honest and say I have had a hard time living on my past wage and that I got a better offer? Should I just walk in and say I'm giving my 2 weeks?

I have a great job and I love the people that work there and the office-culture, but the pay isn't letting me live well.. This job is better for me and my future.

Help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-30-2015, 07:13 PM

12,132 posts, read 23,449,974 times
People quit jobs all of the time. No one is going to fault you for bettering yourself, especially a $7 an hour pay raise. Go in, thank them for the opportunity, and give them your notice.