Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 12-19-2014, 10:37 PM

5 posts, read 9,387 times

Advertisements

Hello, everyone!

I have a bit of a dilemma that I have been trying to deal with for a while. I am at a relatively new workplace and have always seen it as my enjoyable "stepping stone" into a leadership role within 5 years. We only have a dozen employees. The job offers the ability to move into leadership in accordance with certification and education.

I have my Masters degree, and am working on the next step. I plan on completing an accelerated program for the next step, which will likely take two years.

Here's the thing: that annoying, narcissistic, approval-seeking person we all work with is intending to achieve the same goal, pursuing the same degree through the same school, and within the same timeline.

Now, I've kept the peace and held my cards close, yet this person has been chosen by the boss to attend a marketing leadership conference in a couple months. She and I are going on another leadership conference in March. The boss is aware that both of us are doing this, yet they have not said anything to either of us about it. I only know because this competitor broadcasts their abilities and opportunities to everyone else.
_____
For me, this is what it all means:

1) Employees complain about this arrogant, loudmouth co-worker. Does the boss pick up on this? If so, why would he have the company pay for her conference and flight?