Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-15-2011, 08:15 AM

13 posts, read 13,142 times

Advertisements

The Massachusetts company that I've been working for for the past 25 years will be closing at the end of February.

Though I have not yet joined the ever growing unemployment pool, I'm forming (at least in my mind) a plan of action.

** Run, don't walk to the unemployment office. I'm hearing that our local unemployment center offers a lot of workshops.

** Sign up for online Microsoft Office training through careerbuilders.com. (These skills weren't needed in my 25 year job)

** Get certified for Microsoft Office through a local adult learning center.

Am I missing anything??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-15-2011, 08:20 AM

26,329 posts, read 93,890,287 times
Apply for jobs for which you have the qualifications
Don't rule out relocating
You need cash flow I assume, so anything is better than nothing - you can train evenings and weekends
Community colleges
Trade School
Military

Old 02-15-2011, 08:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles View Post
Apply for jobs for which you have the qualifications
Don't rule out relocating
You need cash flow I assume, so anything is better than nothing - you can train evenings and weekends
Community colleges
Trade School
Military

I need help with the resume first and foremost! I've never needed one. I think exhausting the jobs in my local area first would be best.