Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-18-2018, 01:04 PM

1 posts, read 291 times

Advertisements

Hi y’all,

This is the most helpful website I’ve been to lately so I figured I’ve give it a shot.

I am a student and I have been on unemployment on/off for two years. I was laid off from Sears and had a hard time finding work. I collected between jobs and everything was fine, I would just reopen my claim if I needed to. In July, they told me all my benefits had been paid out. I reapplied for benefits because I am almost done with school and cannot have a full-time job. I came back from an internship and got a letter stating that i had a telephone interview. I waited and they never called, and they made a decision based on the information I provided. I could appeal, but I missed the deadline.

I found a part time job but only get 6-10 hours a week, so I tried to reopen my claim in October. I am still able to certify for benefits, I get the paper every week, and I got a customer account number. I “emailed” them and asked what was going on. One person said I had a phone interview, and another told me the decision had been made. I don’t know what else to do other than just go to an unemployment office because I cannot seem to get through on the phone.

Has anyone experienced this, and if so what did you do?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-18-2018, 01:12 PM

14,500 posts, read 31,131,723 times
You're asking the wrong questions.