Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area
 [Register]
Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area Manatee and Sarasota Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-12-2010, 08:43 AM

86 posts, read 159,283 times

Advertisements

Experienced boaters,

I have no boating experience whatsoever... so here goes my questions for the day:
1-What are the desirable/undesirable feature to look for in buying/renting one?
2- Given a choice do you rent or buy one?

Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-12-2010, 09:54 AM

6,103 posts, read 15,110,850 times
Until you have a boat, and know that is what you really love, I would rent a few boats first. You can check out what you like before you buy. I have a boat that is perfect for the Chesapeake Bay. If I knew when I bought it I would be here, I would have a slightly different model.

Same with the boat dock. I would see if a home owner might be willing to rent you access to their lift and dock. There are many available, and someone might be willing to rent it to you cheaply. Once you have a boat, and a home on the water, then you can just relocate it there. I have a dock (concrete fixed), and a boat lift. You want that because you want to get the boat out of the water so that it doesn't become barnacle infested. Mine is easy to use, easily accessible, I can jump on and go any time I wish. I use it a lot.