Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Jose
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-17-2013, 10:53 AM

5 posts, read 15,501 times

Advertisements

My husband and I currently live in Weston, CT. Our children are out of the house and we love Northern California. We are in our ealy 60's. At this stage in our lives, we are considering "shaking it up" and moving to Northern, California. I am an interior designer and my husband is in the music business. We have been tied to New York City (I lived in the city when I was single) and would like to be near San Francisco.

We stumbled on Los Gatos a few years ago and it seemed to tick all the boxes. Great weather (my husband
enjoys running & cycling) not too far from San Francisco, nice downtown, Jewish Community Center (we're not religious but would like to have a sense of community) good restaurants, etc. We're also looking to buy or build a house that has a view of the mountains and some acreage. As I said, Los Gatos ticks all the boxes but it is SO expensive. Fairfield County Connecticut isn't a cheap place to live but seems that way compared to Los Gatos.

Does anyone know of an alternative to Los Gatos? A place where we can find (or build) a house with the above attributes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-17-2013, 01:43 PM

310 posts, read 687,048 times
You might look at something in the Santa Cruz mountains or, perhaps, along 101 between San Jose and Salinas.