Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-18-2009, 07:17 PM

3 posts, read 10,133 times

Advertisements

A couple of days ago, I was given a call by my landlord saying that there will be a city inspector coming in. So I made an appt with him and let city inspector in.

City inspector told me that there is nothing hazardous such as CO at the moment, and left. But what he also told me was that this is probably an illegal apartment and I confirmed it with my landlord. I am a student and I cannot afford to move out of this place when my school starts so I emailed my landlord saying that it may be wise for me to move out soon if I can find a place. I also demanded my security deposit back before moving out.

Today, I talked to a lawyer regarding this issue (which should have been the first and a smart thing to do in this kinda situation I realized). He told me that I should not have told my landlord that I may be moving out. He said its okay since I did not give him a specific date. However, he told me to just stay low and don't do anything until eviction notice arrives. He told me not to pay rent anymore and such. Also told me that it is extremely unlikely for my landlord to get a permit for my little studio in his basement.