Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii > Oahu
 [Register]
Oahu Includes Honolulu
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-07-2017, 01:34 PM

3 posts, read 4,538 times

Advertisements

I am a teacher relocating to Oahu. I do not want to live in the city of Honolulu. I was looking in the Kailua area. I am wondering, how difficult is it to get a teaching position on Oahu? Do you know of anyone hiring in the fall? Do you suggest any schools? I am currently working in a Title 1 school and I am happy.

Thanks so much
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-07-2017, 03:40 PM

1,889 posts, read 2,198,484 times
Not sure about finding work, but Hawaii schools are pretty terrible for the most part unfortunately, and it may be tough to survive on a teacher's salary on Iahu, especially pricey Kailua.

Old 01-07-2017, 08:33 PM

74 posts, read 91,319 times
Yeah, Kailua is a too in demand area, because it's more diverse, aka more white people, and they usually have money.
You're more likely to get hired on the Leeward side, where the schools are rougher and you might be the only haole.
I'm not sure of the process, but now is a great time to start applying. It's good for them to have your resume on file, but it's unlikely that they'll start interviewing or hiring until later in the Spring.
What do you teach?