Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-15-2017, 06:08 PM

13 posts, read 19,651 times

Advertisements

Hello all! My husband is active duty Army and is getting out this year (finally!) We are a young couple with two young kids (4 and 5) and we are looking to relocate permanently to the D.C./northern VA area from Georgia. I am a registered nurse and he has his Bachelor's degree in criminal justice with a concentration in homeland security. We have NO idea where to start with finding a decent place to live that is not too expensive but is still a somewhat reasonable distance to commute into D.C for my husband. We are probably looking at a $350-$375k price range for a home (I know that doesn't go far in northern Virginia!) Factors that are most important to us:

-safety, low crime rate
-good school system
-commuting distance to D.C for my husband (hopefully within an hour or less)
-affordability ($375k give or take)
-family friendly with activities for young kids
-historical town, even a small town feel (we are not big on night life or the huge urban city scene)
-lots of outdoor activities and pretty scenery!
-great hospitals (for me as a nurse since I more than likely won't be commuting into D.C)