Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-18-2010, 01:46 PM

59 posts, read 147,867 times

Advertisements

I have a bachelor's degree in journalism, which I got in 2007. I completed two internships at well-known tv stations in New York. I've been trying to find an entry-level job at a media organization, but it's been unsuccessful. I talked to some former classmates who have found jobs at top media orgs in NYC, and they told me they interned and applied to jobs online, same as I.

I know it's very difficult to get a job in NYC, especially now with the economy. The only jobs I have done since graduating are holiday retail, substitute teaching, which is also hard to get, tutoring, direct care (working in group homes with the disabled), and telemarketing. The last gig I had was commission only telemarketing.

I'm going back to school in September for a master's degree in teaching, hopefully I can get another internship and it'll help me get into media somehow. I also applied to the Made in NYC production program and Teach NY, which are super competitive.

I know a lot of people come here to try and make it and it's difficult, but is there anyone here who has gotten into a super competitive industry and done well? Is there a secret to climbing the corporate ladder? Is it really all about who you know?

I know I should have gotten a more marketable degree, now I wish I would have done something else, but oh well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-18-2010, 04:37 PM