Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-15-2010, 04:22 PM

5 posts, read 9,101 times

Advertisements

My husband and I curerently live in SE MI. We are in our mid 20's. He is finishing up his bachelors in MIS (management information systems), has 1 1/2 years left, and I work full time as an RN right now (which by the way I hate and want to change carrers when he graduates).

We LOVE going up north any chance we get to enjoy the beauty and all the wonderful outdoor activites and the up N lifestlye, and are debating a move (anywhere he can get a job, thinking most likely TC) after he finishes school. We just want a slower pace of life with less stress and less people...want a simple quiet country lifestlye.

Obviously, things aren't blossming anywhere in MI, but where and what are the best jobs up N to have? What are people successful with and make a good living on? Does anyone know about the MIS job market? He'll be doing database work or project management or like a systems analyst for businesses. Does anybody know if these jobs even exist up N? Possibly in the TC area?

We love it up north but have never actually lived there year round...I am kinda wondering if it will get really boring...esp in winter? Any input? How is cost of living in TC? I have heard different things. Thanks for any info!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-15-2010, 05:33 PM

1,742 posts, read 4,001,223 times