Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > Kansas City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-20-2011, 06:18 PM

1 posts, read 1,447 times

Advertisements

I am moving to Kansas City in the next few weeks and I would like to get some insight from current and past residents.

I am a young professional, 27 years old, single, and I prefer the extraodinary/unique to the ordinary, aka, I prefer family owned restaurants instead of the chain eateries, I would rather go to a local independent movie theater than than a Hawkins or a Regal movie house. I also like hitting up the bars on the weekends and hope to live near other young people so I can meet some new people easily.

I also would like a short commute or go the opposite direction of traffic. I am working near I-70 and 32. Anyways, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited by BTFU07; 03-20-2011 at 06:35 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-20-2011, 09:16 PM

1,145 posts, read 2,466,389 times
If you want more urban/alternative i would suggest Union Hill which is a young professional area but really only has bars to walk to, River Market which very nice but more walking friendly with nice local restaurants,corner markets and other living amentites all within walking distance, and the Volker/West Plaza which have some great restaurants.

If you want something cheaper, the Hyde Park area might suit you, but you will have a short drive to any restaurant/bar you would want to go to.