Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Jacksonville
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-28-2007, 01:46 PM

22 posts, read 151,534 times

Advertisements

My husband & I currently live in East-Central Illinois. We are in our early 30's.
We are looking to find a nice, clean part of Florida that has nice beaches & a decent cost of living. Is that even possible...everyone tells us how expensive Florida is! That scares me a little? My husband will be transferring with his current job. I am a massage therapist & will be looking for employment once we relocate. We enjoy shopping & dining & going out from time to time. But don't really enjoy the partying-bar scene on a regular basis. Which area would you recommend for us?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-29-2007, 12:54 PM

25 posts, read 98,700 times
Default Check into everything

Hi, I can't say that know anything about Jacksonville except that it is the largest city in Florida. The Tampa area however, the home prices have sky rocketed and the traffic congestion has become a nightmare in most parts of the city. I am in the New Tampa area, it is said to have the better schools through out the county. Traffic is awful and home prices are out rageous, the homeowner's insurance crisis and the homeowner's tax crisis is enough to give any one a second thought.

However, we love the beaches in Clearwater and folk are pretty nice for the most part. I would also consider the Sarasota area, about 60 miles out of Tampa. The best beaches around and a great little Amish community with really nice restaurants.