Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-14-2007, 01:20 PM

24 posts, read 98,396 times

Advertisements

My husband and I are considering a move to Northern Florida. South Florida is just too crowded and noisy. We own property near the Alachua county border and can easily commute to Gainesville each day. I am a teacher and am aware that salaries in Alachua are low, there is a glut of teachers and that I will need to find a job in the surrounding counties that pay more. My husband is an electrician with a lot of industrial and commercial experience. He is now a supervisor. Can anyone tell me if there is work in the Gainesville area for my husband/ He would be looking for supervisory work for water treatment facilities and such. How are car insurance rates, homeowners insurance rates and taxes?
THank you so much for any info you could provide.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-15-2007, 02:12 AM

1,333 posts, read 2,200,722 times
I would suggest you look into GRU. That's the utility company for Gainesville. They may have job opportunities for your husband. Check out their website.

GRU- More than Energy®

OCala Electric Utility serves the Ocala area.

Ocala Electric Utility