Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-21-2012, 11:45 AM

14,100 posts, read 28,569,548 times

Advertisements

Back in1987 we had an English Lit teacher who tried to teach us how to read the prologue to Beowulf and Canterbury Tales in their original language. I loved it! Everyone else in class hated it. I was a shy student so I really got shy when she was so excited over my reading(which she recorded) and encouraged me to try to go to college for Literature and drama. She may have felt I had the talent, but I wasn't emotionally suited for drama. Anyone ever study old and middle English while in high school?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-21-2012, 12:26 PM

28,895 posts, read 54,222,989 times
Yep. Here.

I also took a lot of medieval lit in college. It's really interesting how quickly one just picks it up, as long as you have some of the twists in grammar, spelling, etc., explained to you.

Old 05-21-2012, 03:54 PM

14,100 posts, read 28,569,548 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpg35223 View Post
Yep. Here.

I also took a lot of medieval lit in college. It's really interesting how quickly one just picks it up, as long as you have some of the twists in grammar, spelling, etc., explained to you.