Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-04-2007, 05:35 PM

86 posts, read 373,888 times

Advertisements

As a teacher, I am always trying to find new ways of teaching, new ways of reaching students, and new ways to help them connect to the material. So, what helped you? What made the light bulb come on? How did you finally "get it"?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-04-2007, 07:49 PM

7,099 posts, read 27,252,851 times
What are you teaching? Math, history or english at a high school level or First Grade reading?

The teachers that "got through" to me were those that acted as if they enjoyed the classroom and were doing more than just passing time. I was one of the lucky ones that never had any problems learning. My problem was tolerating a teacher that acted as if everyone in the class was incapable of coherent thought.

Old 09-05-2007, 04:42 AM

1,280 posts, read 4,354,530 times
Trust

When I was in school if a teacher was negative no way was I even mentally in that room.......In college I was the girl who got up walked out of classes the minute a teacher went negative ... I lost interest real fast this way.

The teacher that told me I could do it >> I believe in you ..... won me over!

Have you ever heard of Dr. Becky Bailey's Loving Guidance.. Its more geared for younger but there are things she talks about with older children ........
It works it really works

and if your having issues with one student ........... start looking at that one student deeper!