Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-20-2010, 06:42 PM

6 posts, read 14,587 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone,

This is my first time checking out this forum...I stumbled upon city data and the forum and I have to say, this place is great! Here's the scoop -

My wife and I are looking for our first home. We're coming from the Lakewood/80227 area but homes around this area are a little too expensive for what we are finding. We've been all over the map looking at homes, first in the mtns, now back in town. I think we have kinda zeroed in on the Aurora/Centennial area, but I don't know much about it, other than it has a LOT more homes in our price range We're mainly looking for something in our price range ($155k and less) that is in a good neighborhood/family atmosphere with low crime and good schools.

I did a few searches on Aurora and it seems like the general consensus is to stay south. We are going to check out a home tomorrow that is around the Tower Rd/Illif Ave (80017) area...does anyone have any experience with this area? The reason I ask is because there is a website (clrsearch.com) which has crime 'risk' for areas based on previous crime data and in some scary crime categories the crime for the 80017 zip code is off the charts. I would hate to move to a place that had crime without knowing about similarly priced areas with much lower crime rates.