Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-09-2014, 05:05 PM

4,366 posts, read 4,595,798 times

Advertisements

Currently, I'm attending the University of South Alabama; it's a state university with graduate and undergraduate programs. I don't really feel like I'm getting enough out of the online teacher preparation program, though. I didn't feel prepared after I earned my bachelor's degree, so I decided to go for my master's in a similar subject. Well, I feel even less prepared there. The instructors do not prepare us for many of the situations we face in the classroom. I feel as lost as probably would if I had no college background. I can put together a lesson plan and write a rubric, but in the classroom I always second-guess myself on standards, goals, and objectives. I also have trouble coming up with assessments. I almost have a master's degree but still doubt my ability to put all of the pieces together in the classroom.

Really, I think I need to attend a better college, one that will teach me how to match theory with practice. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm still short on money, but I really need to make a change. I simply do not think I'm learning what I need to know here. Everyone is on a different page, and it's confusing me. I need to know the bare bones of actually operating as an actual classroom teacher in a real school setting. As it stands, when I'm in front of the students, my lessons fall apart, and they attempt to eat me alive.