Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-06-2011, 09:03 PM

7 posts, read 33,275 times

Advertisements

I am an elementary school teacher and would like some opinions on teaching in Boston as compared to other places. I am in Texas now and looking to get out. I know it's pretty broad but thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-07-2011, 09:50 AM

1,072 posts, read 2,973,982 times
I can only offer some general opinions based on second hand knowledge but here they are:

I'll assume you mean teaching in Boston proper.
-Rewarding but tough, some schools are great, others are not. There are varying degrees of parental involvement but most school will have parental involvement on the lower end.
-I've heard good things about the emphasis on continuing education for teachers.
-Boston public school teacher salaries are probably higher than where you are coming from in Texas, you should be able to find information on the schools website.
-A teaching job in Boston can be competitive to get.
-Keep in mind Massachusetts has some of the best schools in the country to while I'm saying Boston Public Schools are not great, my perspective could be very different then yours.

Best of luck

Old 07-08-2011, 08:22 AM

1,949 posts, read 4,423,521 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taylor2010 View Post