Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Bend
 [Register]
Bend Deschutes County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-01-2010, 07:50 PM

3 posts, read 18,017 times

Advertisements

I live in the midwest and I have a job prospect in Bend. I am a recent college graduate. I know that some of the questions have been addressed previously, but I don't really trust an answer from 2006 to be good for my 2010 situation.

1) In reading online I have come across a few things about it being a tough area for people in their middle 20's. However, from looking online there are a good number of restaurants, breweries and bars in Bend. I realize that Bend is not a college town or anything like that, but is there a real shortage of people in my age range (21-24) because of the lack of entry level jobs?

2) When looking up the cost of living on a number of calculators they list home prices as a major difference between the area I currently reside and the Bend area. However, they do not list the source of their data, and it seems outdated. It seems that the housing bubble in Bend has burst? Am I correct in assuming this is the case? I see a number of houses that seem fairly new and nice for less than $150,000. It also seems that apartments are fairly reasonably priced from what I have seen.