Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-18-2008, 01:25 PM

134 posts, read 385,489 times

Advertisements

Ok so I have been researching Austin now for about 2 years roughly. What keeps bringing me back to it is it's consistantly high scores on best cities when compared to other cities on ALL fronts. Things like nightlife, cost of living, jobs and job growth, low crime ect. It just seems to rank in the top 10 in all categories while most other cities have strengths and minuses Austin seems to rank consistantly high in every single thinkable category outside of the weather and the traffic.

Those that live here though seem to either blindly promote it on this website, or they seem to say it's way overhyped. There are people on here who have been to OTHER cities outside of Texas (i realize its everyones current favorite city in Texas if your a Texas native) who claim that the only reason to come here is low housing costs and cost of living compared to other cities. They say it's way overhyped, that the nightlife is actually very contained and limited to a couple of streets, that there is no more community involvement with things like festivals and atmosphere than anywhere else -- and that basically this city is no more special than any other city with the added burden of dirty water, traffic that is too ridiculas for a city of that size, high parking costs to go anywhere, and weather that will own your soul.